2020 Polls: Gifty Twum-Ampofo Sets Record In Abuakwa North


The parliamentary electoral dynamics in Abuakwa North Constituency of the Eastern Region of Ghana has it that, none of the members of parliament has been able to win the second term in office after the Abuakwa North Constituency was carved out of the Akyem-Abuakwa constituency in 2004 until 2020 and has been one of the safest seats of the ruling NPP until 2004 when the constituency was divided.

After the split, the late Hon Joseph Boakye Danquah Adu became the mp for Abuakwa North but lost the NPP Parliamentary primaries to Professor Samuel Kwadwo Amoako, hence making Hon Joseph Boakye Danquah Adu a one term member of parliament.

In 2008, Professor Samuel Kwadwo Amoako won the seat on the ticket of the NPP by polling 14,760 votes, the NDC candidate Simon Peter Asirifi obtained 9,714 votes, Eric Asamoadu Dwapanyin of CPP had 257 and Hagan Asiedu Isaac of PNC had 242 votes, whiles then candidate Nana Akufo-Addo obtained 15,377 votes and Professor Mills had 9,341.

The late Joseph Boakye Danquah Adu, came back strongly to win the fiercely contested Parliamentary primaries with the incumbent MP and subsequently, the 2012 elections with 18,812 votes, whiles the NDC candidate, Mr Victor Smith polled 12,309, in the Presidential, Mr Akufo-Addo obtained 19,162 and then President John Mahama polled 12,309.

Before the 2016 general election, the killing of the then MP, Mr J.B Danquah Adu in February 2016, occasioned a by-election, and Madam Gifty Twum-Ampofo, an educationist stood on the ticket of the NPP and won with 10,033 votes, however, the NDC boycotted that bye-election on grounds of sympathy.

Honourable Gifty Twum-Ampofo, as incumbent went on to win the Parliamentary primaries of the NPP and contested in 2016 as their parliamentary candidate and obtained 17,838 votes while his contender, Mr Victor Smith of the NDC obtained 11,754 votes and an Independent Candidate Mr Adjei Danquah Patrick had 524 votes.

Nana Akufo-Addo maintained his dominance in the presidential race with 19,593 votes as against Former President John Mahama of NDC who had 10,004 votes, with the other five candidates obtaining 252 votes in total.

Honourable Gifty Twum-Ampofo went ahead once again, to win the NPP primaries against other three contestants in 2020, namely, lawyer Kay Amoah, Mr Kofi Obeng Mensah and Madam Abena Serwah Acheampong. 

At a fiercely contested 2020 general elections, the incumbent, Honourable Gifty Twum-Ampofo (NPP) polled 17,653 representing 53.17 percent of the total valid votes cast whilst his closest contender, Mr Charles Darko Yeboah (NDC) also polled 15,551 representing 46.87 percent of the total votes cast.

This is the first time an incumbent member of parliament has been elected for the second term in office in Abuakwa North Constituency.

Meanwhile, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential candidate, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo also won the tightly contested 2020 election.

He polled 6,730, 413 which represents 51.59% of the total valid votes cast nationwide whilst

his contender, John Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) polled 6, 214, 889 which represents 47.36% of the total votes cast.

Source: Bigxcon.com/Nana Kwasi Asare.